IMG_20160423_185813Day 6

This ought to be one of my favorites- who DOESN’T love Julia Donaldson??? I was introduced to her books kinda late in the day. The Gruffalo was released sometime in the 90’s which means I wasn’t kid enough to read them and well, not grown up enough to bother about kid’s perspectives. But once I read them (to the daughter, of course!), boy was I hooked!

I ordered this book along with the two Gruffalo books, not because it had been recommended but because the cover looked oh-so-pretty! I know, I know, never judge a book by its cover and all that, but then I had read other books by Donaldson and I was sure this couldn’t POSSIBLY be bad!IMG_20160423_180257

So I read the book to them. The ‘audience’ being all girls helped. They absolutely LOVED the narrative! And today I let them off the hook for private reading, instead we sat down together to make paper dolls of our own. No points for guessing how THAT activity went!  My girl also started naming her dolls 🙂 And another kept singing the refrain from the book, “And Ticky and Tacky and Jackie the Backie, and Jim with two noses and Jo with the bow!” Oh, the joys of childhood!

IMG_20160423_152502022

IMG_20160423_171609098We then did this really fun activity adapted from here on education.com. (although I made quite a few changes to the basic idea). Here’s what I did: I made a list of words that first graders should be able to spell. I then pulled out my scrabble set and gave them the whole pile of tiles. I told each kid they had to ‘manufacture’ words in their ‘factory’. So if I told them I wanted a ‘kite’, they had to spell ‘kite’ from the pile. Was good fun, Alhamdulillah!

IMG_20160423_180147929IMG_20160423_173300179And that was that! A very satisfying, literary, crafty day in all!

 

 

One thought on “Summer Reading Camp: Day 6: Julia Donaldson!

Leave a Reply

