Summer Reading Camp Day 4

This post was long in coming, but a family vacation came up and things got delayed. However, now that I am Alhamdulillah refreshed, let’s go!

 

So this is how day four turned out:

Story telling with discussion: I picked another Brothers Grimm tale, ‘The House in the Wood’ from my Miles Kelly collection. The story involved some farm animals and old man with a really, really, long beard. To spruce up the telling a bit, I used my daughter’s toy figurines. I had the necessary animals and used a grandpa doll sans the long beard and asked the kids to imagine the facial hair ūüėČ

IMG_20160419_175809009

Activity 1: The story had some vivid descriptions-¬†the¬†old man, a paradise like room that the heroine finds herself in, etc. I didn’t let the girls peek into the book’s pictures. Instead, after¬†we had discussed all about the tale, I asked each to draw scenes from the story from their understanding of the plot and characters.¬†It was interesting to see how they had visualized¬†the narrative.

IMG_20160419_174322945

Activity 2: I adapted this activity¬†on the silent letter ‘E’ from education.com. I used my daughter’s blackboard instead. Each girl got a simple word on the board (like cub), to which she had to add the ‘magical letter E’ with her special colored chalk (each girl was given a different color). She then had to read the new word (in this case, ‘cube’). So we had words like at, pin, bit, spin, etc.

IMG_20160419_170706996

And that was it. We did two activities and our one hour was up. Unfortunately we didn’t get any time for silent reading on this day, but I did ask the girls to take home some books from the ‘library’ to read at home.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

